Each Year, the British Air Display Association recognises those who have made exceptional contributions or achievements within the airshow world. These are awarded at the BADA Annual General Meetings.

The BADA Trophy

Presented by Hayward Aviation

The BADA Trophy presented by Haywards Aviation

The BADA Trophy presented by Haywards Aviation

The BADA Trophy is awarded to an individual or organisation that demonstrates the aims of the association ‘To encourage, promote and advance Safety and Standards in British Air Displays’

2011 Recipient – Barry Sargeant

Nominated by Peter Wells of the SWIP Team. Barry identified an engine fault with one of the SWIP Team’s aircraft as it taxied past him and promptly alerted Air Traffic. It was subsequently found that there was a serious fault with engine and Barry’s prompt action had prevented the possibility of a much more serious problem had the team got airborne.

2012 Recipient – Guy Westgate

Nominated by George Bacon for Guy’s contribution to the development of Night Air Displays which culminated in a spectacular flypast at the opening ceremony at the London 2012 Paralympics.

2013 Recipient – Ian Sheeley

Nominated by the BADA Committee for exceptional contribution to the Royal International Air Tattoo, the Air Display Organisers Forum and Working Group and to the British Air Display Association as it’s founding Chairman.

2014 Recipient – The Royal Air Force Aerobatic Team, the Red Arrows

In recognition of the professionalism displayed by all members of the Red Arrows over many years and in particular, the re-building of the team following the tragic non-airshow accidents of 2011.

2015 Recipient – George Bacon

In recognition for his outstanding professionalism, his calm actions, leadership and demeanour under duress following the accident at CarFest North in August 2015. Read More…

The Miss Demeanour Trophy

The Miss Demeanour Trophy - Image © Paul Johnson

The Miss Demeanour Trophy – Image © Paul Johnson

Gifted by Jonathon Whaley for the year’s “unsung hero” – this can be an individual or organisation that ‘went the extra mile’ to deliver a display or event.

2011 Recipient – Bournemouth Borough Council

For the professional and sensitive response of the entire Bournemouth Borough Council during the 2011 Air Festival which saw flash flooding in the town on the opening day and the tragic loss of Red Arrows pilot Flt Lt Jon Egging during the weekend.

2013 Recipient – Peter Wells (Twister Aerobatics Team)

For “Going the Extra Mile” against all odds to complete display commitments at the Al Ain Aerobatic Show. Despite the team’s container being left behind at Felixstowe Docks and endless red tape challenges over importing the team’s Pyrotechnics for this displays at Al Ain, Peter Wells made sure he and his team made it to Al Ain for their displays.

2014 Recipient – Richard Goodwin

In recognition of his untiring work to develop and extensively modify his Pitts S2S into the ‘Muscle Biplane’ with exhausting determination and at great personal expense

2015 Recipient – Dr Robert Pleming and the Vulcan to the Sky Trust

In recongition of the outstanding contibution to the British Air Display Community by Dr Robert Pleming and the Vulcan to the Sky Trust in bringing Avro Vulcan XH558 back on to the display circuit between 2008 and 2015. Read More…

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Each year the British Air Display Association committee also mark the achievements of those who have played pivotal roles in the UK Air Display world during their lives.

2011 Awards
  • Brian Lewis
  • Ray Thilthorpe
  • Sqn Ldr Jock Maitland DFC MBE
2012 Awards
  • Group Captain Geoff Brindle MSc FRAeS RAF (Ret’d)
  • Peter Eager and Don Bean MBE
2013 Award
  • Tim Prince OBE FRAeS
2014 Award
  • Wing Commander Bill Hartree
2015 Award